Thursday, 26 April 2007

Intervallum 32 - Soundcatchers

DJ Vadim - The Sound Catcher

His first full-length project since 2005's critically acclaimed supergroup release One Self, DJ Vadim's BBE debut The Sound Catcher is everything you've come to expect from the DJ/producer/musical incendiary: unpredicatable, varied and ambitious.
His definitive work to date, the seventeen-track set sees the former Jazz Fudge head and longtime Ninja Tune artist throwing formality out the window and following his own path and plan. Present are straight shots of soul ('Black Is The Night' f/ Kathrin DeBoer), charged MC-driven wake-up calls ('Ballistic Affairs' f/ Skinnyman) and dense, dubby instrumentals ('Manchester'; 'SD4'). The dark grooves of 'Talk To Me' reference Gwen McCrae's '90% Of Me Is You'; 'Fear' and 'Watch That Sound' delve into reggae whilst classic rap informs 'Got To Rock' and the sly, infectious 'Soundcatchers' with stalwart West Coast MC Abstract Rude.
Throw in the mystical Timbaland-esque 'Like The Wind' and the deep, slow burn of 'Sufferin' Blues' and it adds up to a wholly fulfilling seventy minute experience. Stylistically leagues away from drab contemporary rap, The Sound Catcher is a bold and winning hybrid of 21st century hip-hop.

01. Intro
02. Fear Feats feat. Emo and Syrus
03. Talk To Me feat. Sena
04. They Say feat. Diane
05. Soundcatchers feat. Abstract Rude
06. Manchester
07. Kill Kill Kill feat. Big Red and Kathrin DeBoer
08. Milwaukee
09. Like The Wind feat. Deuce Eclipse
10. Black Is The Night feat. Katherin DeBoer
11. Got To Rock feat. Zion
12. Theme To Big Willy Dee
13. Ballistic Affairs feat. Skinny Man and Sena
14. Sufferin' Blues feat. Jill Green
15. Bathe In Bleach
16. SD4
17. Watch That Sound feat. Emo

Chillout !