Thursday, 12 April 2007

Intervallum 26 - After Death But Music Is Undying

Miles Davis - Doo-Bop

With his very last project, DOO-BOP, trumpeter Miles Davis brought a fitting, if not exactly earth-shattering, conclusion to four and a half decades of forward-looking music by incorporating the commercially - and, perhaps, culturally - ascendant sounds of rap into his boundless conceptual universe. While few if any fans would be likely to rank this album (which was, alas, patched together posthumously) among Miles' classics, the Maestro could still blow a mean horn even in his final days, and there's plenty here worth listening to despite the distracting hip-hop overlays on a few tracks and lots of programmed percussion throughout. Granted, DOO-BOP might well have proven a worthier coda to jazz's most important postwar career had the artist himself lived to assemble it; but even as is it's among the better post-1980 Davis efforts and a good place for rap enthusiasts to begin the journey into jazz.

1. Mystery
2. The Doo Bop Song
3. Chocolate Chip
4. High Speed Chase
5. Blow
6. Sonya
7. Fantasy
8. Duke Booty
9. Mystery (Reprise)

Chillout !